Day 14: A touch up

I start writing this without a title. A story without a theme. I had little time to be in my own head today, spent one of my last saturday’s at home with family and it was well spent. However it forbade me from tapping into deeper consciousness, for tomorrow will have more head time.

I decided to pick up a few books today. I have always studied nietzsche’s overall idea but never any of his actual books so I got “The Antichrist” and “The birth of tragedy”. I’m sure both will come to use in my life and give me thoughts to write on! To be honest, I use to be a bit afraid to pick up these books or travel into the thoughts of this philosopher. The time I spent in church they spent a fair amount of time on  telling you what you should and shouldn’t read. I think the straw that broke the camel’s back was when a fellow church goer had to ask if his batman comic books were sinful. To add on that thought, I have realized lately that’s how they keep members in. Shaming them so that they feel like they need the people of the church’s approval and the church version of God’s approval. It’s a self deprecating cycle that keeps them hooked in. Under one of the many guises of escapism.

The Colonel: Who are you to judge me?

El Topo: I am God!

I think this is also relevant to the previous paragraph. In my previous day’s post I explained some scenes I found interesting in El Topo and I forgot to mention this. On El Topo’s journey he kills those he thinks are immoral, thinking he is playing God for God. I believe El Topo has an internal dialogue at the end where he asks himself “Killing in the name of…what?”. The scene made for a fun play on ethics and morality. I don’t think anyone every commits malicious acts, they commit what is right.

I hope that didn’t go in one ear and out the other for you, it gave me chills. Till next time.

“In individuals, insanity is rare; but in groups, parties, nations and epochs, it is the rule.”- Friedrich Nietzsche
Leave a Reply

