Day 21: I did it my way

I feel an aura of butterflies again as im four days out from departure. I’ve come to terms that there will never be a time that I feel totally “ready”, maybe that’s what holds a lot of people back.  On the same coin, I feel set on the right path. I am convinced this is the correct path on where I want to go. The most beautiful part about it is that it’s my path, I created it myself. No guidance counselor told me what to do, no church pastor told me what to do, this is all on me. For that exact reason I welcome all the abundance and all the hardship. On that note, this chapter is a good place to start.

On Enjoying and Suffering the Passions

To put it short, the essence of the chapter is in the title. Zarathustra eloquently states that our “suffering” is what makes us stronger. However, everyone’s suffering is unique to them but shouldn’t be shared for fear of losing uniqueness. Meaning don’t try and directly replicate someone’s life in hopes of getting theirs, everyone has unique struggles who make them into their admirable figure.

On the Pale Criminal

This chapter was a little confusing, it will be kept short. A dialogue erupts between a criminal and a judge, the criminal convinces himself he was committing theft and then so happened to murder someone. He feels massive guilt for being so weak to be drawn to kill someone. Essence of this chapter dwells down to knowing your weaknesses. Now the pale criminal knows his, but it’s too late. If he figured this out sooner, it could have been avoided.

On Reading and Writing

This chapter I found exceptionally intriguing. Zarathustra goes into saying that a writer’s work is often times so personal, so much of himself is put into his work that not many people understand it to his level. However writers usually have free fun spirit about them when writing it as it’s therapeutic for them, potentially dark for readers. He ends his speech by detesting widespread literacy because it has pushed authors to dumb down their works for the masses, as reading us to be reserved for the academics.

On the Tree on the Mountainside

This chapter spoke to me personally. Zarathustra meets a boy by a tree (on the mountainside) and sparks a dialogue with him. The boy feels isolated and has new found contentment from others for becoming independent (following his dreams?). Zarathustra informs him how this is normal, as great men often become more lonely as they don’t relate with the rest of the world. He instills in the boy hope for the future, as any good mentor does.

Leave a Reply

