Day 89: Journey updates

The following is a detox of my mind.

I had a mentor tell me its good when time goes by slowly. When you’ve only been in a place for a few months and there was an experience or and adventure everyday it feels like two months is the equivalent to a year in the ordinary world. After embarking on my adventure, I feel more in tune with the “special world” or the “unknown world” as referenced by Joseph Campbell. I know the journey is still in the beginnings, but its everything I wanted.

I got a second job as a personal trainer part-time. It’s funny how I never went out looking for it, it came to me and I was ready for the opportunity. Since coming here I have evolved to be in the best shape of my life and only getting better. I think if I were to come here and just let go, that opportunity very well may have not occurred. You don’t have to get ready when you stay ready.

I feel I can’t divulge everything, nobody does. There is a balance to personal life and a blog post. These experiences and adventures are so well ingrained in my mind I can reference later if needed I imagine.

I also heard the phrase “You’ll never be a bum, its just not in you”. It makes me think of what I’ve accomplished so far and its true for certain people. They just don’t have that spirit, they get things done. Most importantly, they show up. Those three words is what can distinguish someone who kind of wants something and someone who wants it. If you just show up, to whatever it is, you’ll learn along the way. In the words of Richard Branson, “If someone offers you an amazing opportunity and you’re not sure you can do it, say yes – then learn how to do it later”. Just, fucking, show, up.

Leave a Reply

